BOSS & ME (2014) review – Too precious for this world

comi.jpg

Titles: Shan Shan Lai Le (杉杉来了) / Boss & Me

Cast:

  • Zhang Han as Feng Teng
  • Zhao Li Ying as Xue Shan Shan
  • Huang Ming as Zheng Qi
  • Li Cheng Yuan as Yuan Li Shu
  • Zhang Yang Guo Er as Feng Yue
  • Bai Ke Li as Yan Qing
  • Shi An Ni as Xue Liu Liu
  • Wang Ting as Lu Shuang Yi
  • Cui Yong Xuan as Du Fan

Directed by: Liu Junjie

Written by: Good Story Workshop

Based on: The novel Shan Shan Lai Le by Gu Man


Plot (from Wiki):
Based off Gu Man’s very popular internet novel, the story tells of a kind hearted young girl named Xue Shan Shan (Zhao Li Ying) who works at a big conglomerate. However one of her weaknesses is eating, she loves to eat, and so upon discovering this her boss, Feng Teng (Zhang Han) decides to intentionally fatten her up; she just so happens to share the same blood type as his sister, and thus has the motive of making her the blood donor. Hence comedy ensues as she melts his heart with her exceptional appetite and her cute charm.

杉杉來了78
Family, friendship and love-life goals in one picture

Review:

At first I thought I wouldn’t like this drama, because it wasn’t the type of series I’m used to watch; but soon I realized that it is one of the best dramas that I’ve ever seen.

A02GRUT400B70003
They eat, they eat a lot in the series, and you’ll love it

The plot is sweet and simple, wonderfully simple (I mean, you sometimes watch dramas and get really annoyed about how everything seems to be unreal and twisted, unnecessarily complicated). When you are watching B&M, you can understand why the characters are acting in a way or another, and somehow, you can pretty relate to them.

The brilliance of this drama is the evolution of Shan Shan (gorgeously portrayed by ZYL), from an insecure and hesitant young girl to a determined and strong woman. And this evolution is thanks to Feng Teng (ZH’s role will absolutely win your heart and soul). Through the series, you see them overcome all kind of obstacles and grow as one of the sweetest couples ever (they have like the healthiest relationship I’ve ever seen).

Moreover, B&M have a bunch of cute moments that will satisfy your inner-fangirl. There’s no one single scene which I regret spending time watching (in fact, I wish there were more and more and more of it ಥ_ಥ).

comi
Like how cute can they be…

As I said before, the two leads (ZH and ZLY) perfom  wonderfully their roles, but I really think that the whole cast makes a great work: they are all convincing in their roles. I pretty like everyone (and that’s a little crazy).

(SPOILERS) I utterly fell for Feng Teng (played by Zhang Han) in the most unexpected way. He seems to be cold and serious, but his sense of humour (his taste on pranking people) and his personality reminds me of an adorable child (I CAN’T stop fangirling over scenes like the one in which he got jealous over his workers, when Shan Shan started to praise them; and he “subtlely” stated all his achievements as the most talented and youngest boss of the corporation).I love how she loves Shan Shan (and I love how Shan Shan loves him back). He likes and respects every part of her, and is truly worried about how their relationship could affect that naive and “pure” personality of hers. All their scenes together (eating mostly) are golden fangirling-material to me. I LOVE how he proudly smiles at the end when Shan Shan had overcame all her fears and became an independent and strong woman with her own dreams and ideas (the scene in which he’s fixing the bonsais with Feng Yue, while he tells her that now Shan Shan can critize him and be picky with food)… Seriously, where do I find my own Feng Teng??? (ㄒoㄒ) Some people say that Zhang Han is too skinny, and that their ideal Feng Teng would be bla bla bla (bullshit, Zhang Han portrays impeccably his role, don’t mess with me ◔_◔).

53ba0bba94cc0704_1357906_459553
My precious baby

Shan Shan (played by Zhao Li Ying) is basically a cutie pie, and you can really understand why Feng Teng fell for her. She’s unsure and indecisive at first, but that doesn’t make you dislike her, far from that, I just wanted to cuddle and protect her from everything (which is what Feng Teng felt, I think). And that’s why you cry when she cries (the scene when she sees Li Shu kissing Feng Teng and then breaks up with him… ಥ_ಥ). But she had to pass over all those things in order to become the strong and determined woman she is at the end of the series (so my tears were worth it, just watch the final scene when Shan Shan shuts Wang Pin Ruo’s mouth by telling joyfully that she’s Feng Teng’s finacé, hell yeah girl). I love how she said that she may not be the best person for Feng Teng, but she would do anything in order to be the best version of herself for him (that’s in fact my motto for every relantionship: find someone who makes you want to be a better version of yourself, the best version of yourself).

sam-sam-den-day-7363
Cutie pie, I said

Zheng Qi (played by Huang Ming) is Feng Teng’s closest friend, and he has a charming personality. However, what I really like about him is his good sense (for example, when Li Shu couldn’t make up her mind about forgeting Feng Teng and starting a relationship with him, he stated clearly that he would wait for her, but not forever <– Goodbye unnecessary drama). I also love how he’s always supportive and sweet (when he was cheering up Li Shu in Englad after she had an argument with Feng Teng), and how he throws himself into everything he does. The fact is that he loves Li Shu and tries to win her heart, but he always respect her crush over Feng Teng (he doesn’t use tricks or schemes to get close to her, and he doesn’t try to win her heart by hurting Feng Teng or spoiling their relationship: something that Li Shu truly does with Shan Shan). And that’s why you feel happy for him when he finally gets Li Shu, and you nod your head satisfiedly.

A0N80B0G00B70003
Besties

Yuan Li Shu (played by Li Cheng Yuan) is at first one of the antagonist of the series (‘though I think the main, and maybe only, antagonist is in fact, Liu Cheng Hao). She schemes in order to spoil Shan Shan and Feng Teng’s relationship, and you can really hate her when she is doing that, because she can’t stand seeing Feng Teng being happy with another person ‘though she doesn’t have the braveness to confess herself to Feng Teng. The worst part was all the “Mrs. Feng” thing that happened in Englad, but only because it almost “killed” Grandpa Xue.

In fact, although I really hated her sometimes, I’m pretty thankful for all her tricks and schemes, because they made Shan Shan and Feng Teng overcome all those obstacles and grow as a couple (in this sense, I absolutely agree with Xiao Wei: Those obstacles exist, they are not there because of Li Shu, Li Shu just manipulated them and made them “stand out”; but with Li Shu’s schemes or not, Shan Shan would have had overcome those obstacles). Besides, when Li Shu finally gets over Feng Teng and realizes that Zheng Qi is her one, you really feel happy for her as well (I feel pity for her when she told Zheng Qi that she didn’t recognise herself anymore due to all the bad things she had done to Shan Shan in order to spoil her relationship with Feng Teng). And one thing I like in this sense is that she is still that strong and independent woman she was before: she doesn’t change because she gets over Feng Teng.

20140716030700111
A strong and independent woman in fact

Shan Shan’s family is traditional and caring, daddy Xue and mummy Xue are protective but reasonable (more healthy relationships). Someone could say daddy Xue is “over-protective”, but you can relate to him and understand why he does or says something. I utterly love the scene when Shan Shan is angry with Feng Teng because Feng Yue (her sister) investigated and took photos of her family behind her back, and daddy Xue is like: “it’s perfectly understandable, I did the same thing, but using my own resources”.

I didn’t relate at first to Shan Shan’s cousin, Xue Liu Liu. But then, when I get to know her adoptive mother (Shan Shan’s auntie), I understood how much pressure she felt. I really ended up caring about Liu Liu and wanting to protect her (like telling her that everything was going to be okay, when all the shit happened to her). I admire her professionalism and her ambition, her determination and sacrifice.

1405567865932
It’s okay, Liu Liu, everything will be okay

As for the OST, the more you listen to it, the more you love it (each time I heard a song of the OST of B&M, I start fangirling instinctively). The scenography and the costumes are pretty and convenient as well, so my ratings for this drama are…


  • Plot: 20/20
  • Cast: 20/20
  • OST: 10/10
  • Scenography: 10/10
  • Costume: 10/10
  • Overall: 10/10

(I know the ratings seem unrealistic, and I confess to be happily biased about everything related to B&M, but seriously, this is one of the best dramas ever).

e574ade5jw1eieh5ez15zj20xc0m8n22
My sunshines
Leave a Reply

